home
about WINDHUNTER why it's important faq economic analysis about us links news contact
about us - WINDHUNTER

David Nicholson, President
david@windhunter.org

EDUCATION: Bachelor of Science in Mechanical Engineering, Ohio State University, June 1957. While at OSU I participated in intra-mural wrestling and was a student member of the American Society of Mechanical Engineers. I attended Wilmington College, Wilmington, Ohio 1951-1953 on their work study plan and was active in the Sigma Zeta Fraternity.

WORK EXPERIENCE: I worked for 37 years as a mechanical engineer in several fields involving the design and development of new and novel machinery and equipment.

The last 23 years were at Eli Lilly & Company, Indianapolis, IN USA as a Senior Project Engineer designing and developing specialized mechanical equipment i.e.: ampoule inspection machines (patent#4,417,662), ampoule siliconing machine, urine test tape dispenser assembly machine, tablet unloader (patent #3,937,176), paste spreader, icon liquid spotter, powder fillers and bottle shaker. I was responsible for the installation of some of these machines in Puerto Rico, England and Italy.

I was an instructor of machine design at Indiana University, Purdue University at Indianapolis, Indiana in the college of Engineering.

I worked at Detroit Diesel Allison of GMC Indianapolis, IN for five and a half years as an instrumental engineer to test jet engine parts and I designed a large high temperature test rig for temperature studies of gas turbine blades.

For one and a half years I worked at the Southwind Division of Stewart Warner Corp., Indianapolis, IN. as a research mechanical engineer doing research on reciprocating gas compressors and heat exchangers.

I worked at Battelle Memorial Institute, Columbus, Ohio for five and a half years as a project engineer doing classified government research involving seals, wear, nuclear fuel encapsulations and nuclear damage estimations.

As a college student I worked at the Ohio State University Mechanical Engineering Research Department one year as a mechanical engineering technician doing heat transfer studies of airborne radar systems.

GENERAL INFORMATION: I have worked as a mechanical design engineer and technician, draftsman, clothing salesman, factory worker, meat cutter, grocery clerk, farm laborer and greenhouse helper. I was active in my neighborhood association, harbor master of sailing club and my hobbies are boating, bicycling and fishing. My wife and I have been married for 52 years and raised three daughters. We retired to Apollo Beach, Florida as permanent residents in 1994 and moved to Sun City Center, FL in 2002.